Buhari signs eight bills into law

January 26, 2018 5:44 pm

President Muhammadu Buhari has signed eight bills into law including the National Senior Citizens Center Act, 2018. 

The Senior Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly matters (Senate), Ita Enang, briefed State House correspondents on Friday. 

According to him, the National Senior Citizens Center Act, 2018, establishes the National Senior Citizens Center in the country to cater for the needs of the senior citizens.
Others bills signed into law are Legislative Houses (Power and Privileges), 2018, National Institute of Legislative Studies (Amendment) Act, 2018, and Avoidance of Double Taxation Agreement between the Federal Republic of Nigeria and the Kingdom of Spain (Domestication and Enforcement ) Act, 2018.

Others are Rail Loan (International Bank) (Repeal) Act, 2018, Chartered Institute of Project Managers of Nigeria (Establishment) Act, 2018, Chartered Institute of Local Government and Public Administration Act, 2018 and Nigeria Agricultural Quarantine Service (Establishment), Act, 2018.

The Legislative House Power and Privileges Act, Enang said, grants the Legislative Houses in the National Assembly and State Houses of  Assembly immunity from litigation for actions taken in plenary or committee proceedings of the House or committee. 

It strengthens the power of the Legislators to carry out their Legislative functions.
The powers include powers to summon any person to appear before her, give evidence, including power of an officer of the legislative House to arrest any person who commits an offense against the Act.

The National Institute for Legislative Studies (Amendment) Act establishing the Institute and widens her Powers to include powers to provide training courses and Award Degrees on Democracy, Party Politics, Electoral Process, Legislative Practice and Procedures among others. (The Nation)

shared on wplocker.com